Opened in 1977, this museum is a leader in academic research on the cultures of the Silla and Gaya periods.
Examples of research include excavation and field survey of relics from historic sites related the culture of the Nakdong River, and assorted research regarding historic sites mainly located around the Yeongnam area has been published.
For teachers, students, and anyone else interested in Korean history and culture, the museum is a place where study leads to lifetime education through preservation and exhibitions.
Two colleges, Songmok Theology College, originally St. Justino Theology College, opened in 1914, and Hyosung Women’s College, originally Hyosung Women’s Junior College, opened in 1952, were consolidated to form the current university.
Inside the University History Hall visitors can examine the histories of the two colleges before consolidation in 1994 and the development of the current university.
This exhibition highlights the history of the country from the first humans to the founding of the nation and includes restored relics from excavations dating to the Silla and Gaya periods For example, there are burial mounds from around Seonsaneup in Gumisi.
a Gobungun from Yonggangdong (Gyeongjusi), and excavated relics from the site of a kiln in the Daegok housing development district in Daegu.
Visitors can learn about everyday life from the Goryeo to Joseon eras and see handicrafts including ceramics and articles for daily use. Items related to food, clothing, shelter, the four ceremonial occasions of coming of age, weddings, funerals and ancestral rites, popular beliefs, and seasonal customs can be examined.
This is a memorial hall for the person who established Hyosung Women’s College to provide higher education to women and cultivate their talents during the Korean War. His efforts and achievements are connected to today even after the passage of half a century and played a leadership role in local society as well as the university community after consolidation. Items showing his dedication to education and that show his personality as a Roman Catholic priest are displayed.
For special exhibitions to supplement the permanent displays, this hall has included old books from the Central Library collection, a display showing the history of the university and Church celebrating the 40th anniversary of Hyosung Women’s College, and special exhibition of paintings donated by Mr. Byeongjae Lee. Currently, it holds a special exhibition of relics donated by Mrs. Taejo Lee, the sixth graduate from the school’s Korean Literature Department. This hall provides a place of learning by displaying various relics from Korea and China.
The outdoor exhibition highlights several themes on the land surrounding the museum building. There is a memorial park with a statue commemorating the election of Monsignor Jeon Seok Jae, a stone structure exhibition displaying various gravestones, an exhibition for modern works of students and professors of the university, and forest consisting of chestnut and other trees.